Quick Answer: How Do I Securely Erase My IPhone?

How do you permanently erase data so that it Cannot be recovered?

To make sure that a single file can’t be recovered, you can use a “file-shredding” application such as Eraser to delete it.

When a file is shredded or erased, not only is it deleted, but its data is overwritten entirely, preventing other people from recovering it..

What happens if I remove an iPhone from my account?

It will make your phone no longer show up for her under find my iPhone, and it will no longer be available for quick support. Anything already downloaded to your device will continue to work. Now, if you sign out of the App Store, you cannot download new apps.

Does erase all content and settings remove Apple ID?

It isn’t true. Erase all content and settings wipes the phone and returns it to it’s out of the box condition. Finally Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. Now you can sell/give.

Is it possible to wipe a stolen iPhone?

To prevent anyone else from accessing the data on your missing device, you can erase it remotely. When you erase your device, all of your information (including credit, debit, or prepaid cards for Apple Pay) is deleted from the device, and you won’t be able to find it using the Find My app or Find iPhone on iCloud.com.

How do I wipe my hard drive before recycling?

We’ve outlined the steps we recommend you take below.Delete and overwrite sensitive files. … Turn on drive encryption. … Deauthorize your computer. … Delete your browsing history. … Uninstall your programs. … Consult your employer about data disposal policies. … Wipe your hard drive. … Or physically damage your hard drive.

How do I securely wipe my iPhone?

Go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. If you have Find My iPhone enabled then you may need to enter your Apple ID and password. If you are asked for your passcode or restrictions passcode, enter it and then tap Erase iPhone.

Do you need SIM card in to erase iPhone?

Yes you can do this from the phone itself you just have to turn on your wifi and connect to the internet. The open Settings > General > reset (at the bottom) >Erase all content and Settings. It will ask you to verify this choice a couple times then you have to sign in to your apple account.

Does erase iPhone delete photos?

Delete photos or videos When you delete photos and videos, they go to your Recently Deleted album for 30 days. After 30 days, they’ll be permanently deleted. If you use iCloud Photos, and delete photos and videos from one device, the photos and videos will be deleted on your other devices.

Does removing device from iCloud erase it?

No. To remove an iPhone from iCloud, you have to sign out of the iCloud account to which it is connected. … The data remains intact on the iCloud account (in the cloud) and can be accessed by logging in from any device using your iCloud login.

How do I erase my iPhone without service?

Just follow these steps:Log into the Find My iPhone site via iCloud.Enter your Apple ID and password – you do not need your iPhone passcode, but you will need access to your Apple account.Select your iPhone from the drop-down list of devices.Click “Erase iPhone” and then confirm your decision.More items…

How do I permanently delete data from my phone?

Go to Settings > Backup & reset. Tap Factory data reset. On the next screen, tick the box marked Erase phone data. You can also choose to remove data from the memory card on some phones – so be careful what button you tap on.

How secure is wiping an iPhone?

Is the erasure secure? Well, all of the iPhone’s memory is protected using AES-256 encryption, and hitting the Erase iPhone button destroys the encryption key.

Does erase iPhone delete everything?

What happens when you erase a device in Find My iPhone?A confirmation email is sent to your Apple ID email address.Activation Lock remains on to protect it. … After you erase a device, you can’t use Find My iPhone to locate the device or play a sound on it. … Apple Pay is disabled for your device.More items…

Does taking out the SIM card delete everything?

No matter what type of smartphone you use, there are a few basic things you should check outside of wiping your phone: Remove your SIM card: While most of the data that you store is kept on your internal storage or micro SD card, it’s still possible for contacts or call logs to be kept on your SIM card.